Skip to content

Scenario

October 19, 2011

We did an exercise in Genre Fiction yesterday, based on the technique espoused by Stephen King, of devising a scenario for your stories by working out who the main characters are, what their motivations and relationships to each other are and how these relate to the specific time and place in which the story is set. The plot is then intended to arise naturally from this scenario. In considering this technique I realised that the plot of ‘Attention to Detail’ is not currently strong enough, specifically it is not dynamic enough to be engaging over the sort of length I have in mind for it. I am thus going to try the scenario exercise for the story today and see if I can punch the story up to a satisfying level. I then intend to try and produce at least 500 words a week of it for Writer’s Workshop, then hopefully by Christmas I shop have a complete short story I can submit for competitions (and potentially for assessment in the module).

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment